Sports News

As we continue to navigate COVID-19 and ensure the safety of our student-athletes, SPX Athletics has a plan for moving forward, which is in accordance to both TAPPS guidelines and local restrictions.

Physicals

SPX will not host physicals this year, but they are still required for student-athletes prior to participation.  Athletes should be sure to schedule an appointment with their family physician or local clinic to conduct the physical.  Physical Forms should be submitted to Athletic Trainer - Jeremy Kallus.  In addition, all athletes need to register via Rank One.  For questions, please contact Mr. Kallus.

Dead Week (July 27th - Aug. 2)

St. Pius X will take a pause in training to ensure proper rest for our student-athletes, as well as, revisit and develop an updated COVID-19 Protocol ensuring our athletes return to the safest environment possible.  The protocol will be communicated prior to Aug. 3rd.

All Sports (Fall, Winter, and Spring)

Optional Strength and Conditioning/Skills training will resume on Aug. 3rd at the discretion of the head coach (of each sport).  The training times are determined by the coach and will be communicated as such.  Contact info for all coaches is noted below:

 

Sport

Name

Email

Assistant AD / Cross Country

Erin VanWassenhove

vanwassenhove@stpiusx.org

Athletic Director

Jeff Feller

fellerj@stpiusx.org

Athletic Trainer

Jeremy Kallus

kallusj@stpiusx.org

Baseball

Mike Evans

evansmi@stpiusx.org

Boys Basketball

Brandon Mouton

moutonb@stpiusx.org

Boys Lacrosse

Matt Carr

carrm@stpiusx.org

Boys Soccer

Nick Merricks

merricksn@stpiusx.org

Cheer

Gloria Kimball

kimballg@stpiusx.org

Girls Basketball

DeMya Wheatfall

wheatfalld@stpiusx.org

Girls Lacrosse

Caroline McClean

mcleanc@stpiusx.org

Girls Soccer

TBD

TBD

Girls Volleyball

Clare Brockman

powersc@stpiusx.org

Golf

Kelly Patterson

pattersonk@stpiusx.org

Pantherettes (Dance)

Julie Dorman

dormanj@stpiusx.org

Rugby

David Selby

selbyd@stpiusx.org

SAC Coordinator / Football

Greg Cranfill

cranfillg@stpiusx.org

Softball

Raquel (Rocki) Tello

tellor@stpiusx.org

Sports Information

Khadijah Ray

rayk@stpiusx.org

Swimming

Jessica Paterson

petersonj@stpiusx.org

Tennis

Amy Pesek

pesek@stpiusx.org

Track and Field

Maya Ewing-Wooten

ewingm@stpiusx.org

 

Fall Sports

Football

- Aug. 3 - Resume Optional Strength and Conditioning/Skills Training
- Sept. 7 - First Official Practice (Season Begins)
- For practice schedule and additional questions please contact, Head Football Coach - Greg Cranfill

Volleyball

- Aug. 3 - Resume Optional Strength and Conditioning/Skills Training
- Sept. 7 - Tryouts/First Official Practice (Season Begins)
- For practice schedule and additional questions please contact, Head Volleyball Coach - Clare Brockman

Cross Country

Interested participants should contact Head Coach/Assistant Athletic Director - Erin VanWassenhove

Spirit

Students interested in participating in Cheer or Dance (Pantherettes) should contact the following coaches:

- Head Cheer Coach - Gloria Kimball
- Head Dance Coach - Julie Dorman

Please visit TAPPS 2020 Return to Play for greater details regarding specified dates.

Go Panthers!

 

More Sports News